Chess Sets & Supplies


Oldrich Duras - Master of Chess Combination - First Volume

On the Road to Chess Mastership 1882-1905

Product Code: B0021MV


Chess biography of the leading Czechoslovak chess grandmaster Oldrich Duras (1882-1957). During his prime, 1906-1912, Duras played in 15 of the strongest 24 tournaments held in those seven years, and established himself as one of the best ten or twelve players in the world. His greatest achievement was at Vienna 1908 when he came first (+11=6-2) equal with Maroczy and Schlechter, ahead of Rubinstein. He also shared first prize with Schlechter at Prague 1908 (+11=5-3), and with Rubinstein at Breslau 1912 (+10=4-3); and he took second prizes at Nuremberg 1906 (+8=6-2), Vienna 1907 (+5=8), and Hamburg 1910 (+8=6-2). His last appearance in international play was at Mannheim 1914.

Media Mail Eligible

Media Mail® shipping from the US Postal Service is the cost-effective way to ship Books, Software and DVDs. With shipping rates starting at only $5.00, it's the most affordable shipping method available.


Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Oldrich Duras - Master of Chess Combination - First Volume

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars

IMMEDIATE SHIPPING!! Order within and it'll ship on Wednesday.

Product Details

Additional Information

ISBN 9788071896418
Manufacturer Moravian Chess
Author/s Vlastimil Fiala
Pages 582 Pages
Publication Date Dec 30, 2014
Notation Type FAN - Figurine
Book Binding Type Hardcover